NEAC Welcomes Penn State Harrisburg for 2019-20

NEAC Welcomes Penn State Harrisburg for 2019-20

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Presidents’ Council has accepted Penn State Harrisburg as a full-member institution with an effective date of July 1, 2019. The addition of Penn State Harrisburg will maintain the number of NEAC full-member institutions at 12 in the 2019-20 academic year.

“On behalf of the NEAC Presidents’ Council, it is with great pleasure that we welcome Penn State Harrisburg back to our conference,” said NEAC Presidents’ Council Chair and Morrisville State President Dr. David Rogers. “Harrisburg has demonstrated consistent commitment to both the overall Division III values and the long-standing NEAC values of academics and sportsmanship. It is with great anticipation that we await their return next year.”

Penn State Harrisburg will be returning to the NEAC after spending the last six years with the Capital Athletic Conference. In their first stint with the NEAC, the Nittany Lions joined as a full member in 2007 before departing at the conclusion of the 2012-13 academic year.

“The NEAC is very excited to welcome Penn State Harrisburg back into the conference in 2019,” said NEAC Commissioner Candice Murray. “Penn State Harrisburg served the NEAC well in the past and we are confident their return will immediately enhance the strength and competitiveness of our conference. We look forward to working with their staff as they continue to show tremendous dedication to providing their student-athletes with a well-rounded Division III experience.”

Penn State Harrisburg sponsors 16 intercollegiate sports and will participate in NEAC competition in baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, men’s golf, men’s and women’s soccer, softball, men’s and women’s tennis and women’s volleyball. With the addition of Penn State Harrisburg to the league, the NEAC will begin sponsoring men’s and women’s outdoor track and field beginning in the 2019-20 academic year as the conference will have a total of four teams in each sport. Outside of the NEAC, the Lions will also continue compete in men’s and women’s indoor track and field. Penn State Harrisburg was founded in 1966 and enrolls over 5,000 full and part-time students. The campus offers more than 65 associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degree programs.

“We are pleased to rejoin the NEAC to participate in this competitive conference and provide our student-athletes another opportunity to compete at a high level while pursuing their Penn State education,” said recently retired Penn State Harrisburg Chancellor Mukund Kulkarni. “

“We are very excited about our return to the NEAC,” added Penn State Harrisburg Director of Athletics Rahsaan Carlton. “We have always shared great relationships with the member schools and it will be a great fit for our college, student-athletes and athletic programs.” 

During their previous six-year tenure with the NEAC, the Lions claimed a combined seven conference championships in the sports of baseball (1), men’s golf (2), men’s tennis (2), women’s soccer (1), women’s tennis (1).

NEAC membership has seen a number of changes over the last year due to conference reshuffling throughout Division III. Bryn Athyn College and Wilson College departed the NEAC at the end of the 2017-18 academic year and the College of Saint Elizabeth will join the Colonial States Athletic Conference for the 2019-20 year. The addition of Penn State Harrisburg will provide geographic balance for the NEAC with six full-member institutions in each of the North and South divisions.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: