Penn State Abington Declared NEAC Baseball Champion as Rain Washed Out Final Day of Tournament Play

Penn State Abington Declared NEAC Baseball Champion as Rain Washed Out Final Day of Tournament Play

AURORA, N.Y. – Penn State Abington was declared the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Champion after rain and unplayable conditions forced the cancellation of the final day of play at the 2019 NEAC Baseball Tournament.

Penn State Abington and Penn State Berks were scheduled to meet on Sunday in game six of the tournament with Abington entering the championship round at 2-0 while Penn State Berks was 2-1 in tournament play. Therefore, with game six unable to begin, Penn State Abington was declared the conference champion and the recipient of the automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament as the only remaining undefeated team in the double-elimination tournament.  The championship marks the first in the history of the baseball program as the Nittany Lions prepare for their first trip to the NCAA Tournament with a 23-15 ledger. Penn State Berks wraps up the 2019 season with a 25-14 overall record.

Penn State Abington sophomore infielder Jaden Himmelreich (Temple, Pa.) was named Tournament Most Valuable Player after going 3-for-8 with three runs, three walks and an RBI in two games. In addition to his contributions at the plate, Himmelreich also earned a complete-game victory on Saturday over Wells College where he struck out two and held the Express to two runs.

The tournament field for the NCAA Division III Baseball Tournament will be announced on Monday at noon during the NCAA Selection Show on


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: