D3hoops.com Released All-Region Teams; Three NEAC Student-Athletes Named to All-East Teams

Noah Valencia of Gallaudet, Donyae Baylor-Carroll of Penn State Harrisburg and Kevin Dennis of Morrisville State.
Noah Valencia of Gallaudet, Donyae Baylor-Carroll of Penn State Harrisburg and Kevin Dennis of Morrisville State.

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The 2019-20 D3hoops.com All-Region teams have been announced and three student-athletes were chosen to the men’s All-East Region Teams on Tuesday.

Among the conference selections were NEAC Men’s Player of the Year and Penn State Harrisburg sophomore guard Donyae Baylor-Carroll, who was named as a First Team member, while NEAC top scorer and Gallaudet senior guard Noah Valencia as well as NEAC All-Conference First Teamer Kevin Dennis of Morrisville State were also selected to the D3hoops.com Third Team. 

Baylor-Carroll, a Harrisburg, Pa. native, averaged the third most points per contest with 19.3 per game and led the Lions to the NEAC Regular Season Championship, Conference Championship and a victory in the NCAA Division Men’s Basketball Tournament at No. 6 Johns Hopkins in which he dropped a game-high 45 points in the double overtime win. 

Valencia, a Riverside, Calif. native, averaged a conference-best 21.8 points per contest and ranked inside the top five in steals, field goals made, 3-pointers made, free throws made and minutes played. 

Dennis, a Bronx, N.Y. native, ranked second in the NEAC in scoring at 19.9 points per game, first in rebounds per game with 11.5 and also ranked second in field goal percentage as he shot 59.4 percent from the floor.

For a full listing of the men’s All-Region East Team, click here: https://d3hoops.com/awards/all-region/2019-20/east-men

For a full listing of the women’s All-Region East Team, click here: https://d3hoops.com/awards/all-region/2019-20/east-women

Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools, who were contacted multiple times as the season wound down to remind them to make their players eligible. There were 769 players nominated nationwide. The ballot was then made available to SIDs, who voted for a predetermined number of players in their region. 

It's the 19th season D3hoops.com has named All-Region teams. The regional Rookie of the Year award honors the top freshman in each region, while D3hoops.com also names a regional Coach of the Year.

Regions that have fewer than 40 Division III teams have two teams. The Northeast, which is nearly twice that size, has four teams, while all other regions have three teams. The regions, including the regional player of the year:

Players chosen to the D3hoops.com All-Region team are eligible for All-American selection. This year's All-America team will be the 23rd annual All-American selections. The D3hoops.com All-American teams, along with those of the respective coaches' associations, are the only ones recognized in the NCAA record book.

The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Morrisville State, Penn College, Penn State Abington, Penn State Berks, Penn State Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly, and Wells College. Associate members are: Alfred State (M Lacrosse), Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), College of Saint Elizabeth (M Tennis & M Volleyball), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), SUNY Potsdam (M Volleyball) and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has also partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and women’s tennis. For more information, please visit: www.neacsports.com.