ECAC Announces 2020 DIII Men's Basketball Award Winners; Three NEAC Players Selected

Nate Curry, coach Don Friday and Donyae Baylor-Carroll, all of Penn State Harrisburg
Nate Curry, coach Don Friday and Donyae Baylor-Carroll, all of Penn State Harrisburg

DANBURY, Conn. – Penn State Harrisburg's Nate Curry and head coach Don Friday earned ECAC Division III Men's Basketball major awards, while Donyae Baylor-Carroll secured All-ECAC honors, as announced by the organization on Wednesday, March 18.

Curry was named the ECAC Division III Rookie of the Year, Friday was voted the ECAC Division III Coach of the Year and Baylor-Carroll earned All-ECAC Second-Team recognition.  

Curry emerged as a force during his freshman campaign and secured North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Rookie of the Year and all-conference first-team honors for his efforts. He was also named to the City of Basketball Love (CoBL) All-Area Fifth Team and the CoBL All-Rookie Team this season. Shooting 51.1 percent from the floor, the Brooklyn, N.Y. native averaged 14.7 points and 7.9 rebounds per contest, reaching the double-digit scoring mark in 25 games and recording eight double-doubles this year. The versatile guard elevated his play in the NCAA Tournament, as he averaged 18.5 points and seven rebounds per outing in a thrilling victory over No. 6 Johns Hopkins and a loss to No. 13 Yeshiva.

Friday's most-recent accolade comes after he was named the NEAC Coach of the Year and led the program to its first-ever conference championship and NCAA Tournament appearance. His squad made the most of the appearance, as Friday led the Lions to a memorable double-overtime victory over No. 6 Johns Hopkins in the program's first action in the big dance. In addition to tournament heroics, the Blue & White won their second regular-season conference championship behind a program-record 21 wins on the year. Under his guidance, Baylor-Carroll earned a pair of all-region honors was named the NEAC Player of the Year, while Curry secured conference rookie of the year recognition.

In addition to his ECAC honor, Baylor-Carroll was recently named to the All-East Region First Team and was pegged Second-Team All-East District by the NABC. The sophomore was also named the NEAC Player of the Year and a first-team all-conference selection last month. The Harrisburg, Pa. native was named to the CoBL All-Area Second Team after picking up NEAC Tournament MVP honors following his stellar play in the conference title game. Baylor-Carroll was also named the NEAC Player of the Week three times this season. The shifty guard's most impressive performance came when he scored a program-record 45 points in a double-overtime victory at No. 6 Johns Hopkins in NCAA Tournament action on March 6. He averaged 35.5 points per contest across a pair of NCAA Tournament games against JHU and No. 13 Yeshiva. Baylor-Carroll ranked third in the nation in 3-point field goals made (118) and sixth in the country in 3-point field goals per game (4.07). For the year, he averaged 19.3 points, 4.7 assists, 3.5 rebounds and 1.9 steals per game, while shooting 40.7 percent from 3-point range to go along with 14 games in which he netted 20-plus points.

ECAC Division III Men’s Basketball Awards and All-ECAC Selections
Player of the Year
Jake Ross – Springfield College, Sr., G
Rookie of the Year
Nate Curry – Penn State Harrisburg, Fr., G
Coach of the Year
Don Friday – Penn State Harrisburg
All-ECAC First Team
Riley Collins – Drew University, Sr., G
Jake Ross – Springfield College, Sr., G
Brian Cameron – Wesley College, Sr., G
Da’Kquan Davis – Arcadia University, Jr., G
Doug Levy – John Jay College, Sr., F
Frank Basile – St. Joseph’s College, Sr., G
All-ECAC Second Team
Sam Toney – New Jersey City University, Sr., F
Steve Etienne – Marymount University, Jr., G
Patrick Mahoney – RPI, Jr., F
Donyae Baylor-Carroll – PSU Harrisburg, So., G
Heath Post – Springfield College, Sr., F
Chris LaBelle – Centenary University, Jr., G
Dylan O’Hara – Westminster College, Sr., G

*Additional due to tie

About the ECAC
The ECAC (Eastern College Athletic Conference) is an eighty-year old organization with well over 200 members schools across all three NCAA Divisions - I, II and III - that exists to enhance the experience of student-athletes participating in intercollegiate athletics, and provide great value for universities and colleges, by sponsoring championships, leagues, bowl games, tournaments and other competitions throughout the Northeast.  Most of the ECAC’s members also belong to another conference, which is often the school’s primary conference.

The ECAC also hosts a comprehensive esports program that presently involves 23 schools fielding 107 teams across six different esports games that the ECAC sponsors.  The ECAC’s esports platform is expanding the geographic footprint of the Conference nationally.  

Additionally, the ECAC is becoming involved in sponsoring competitions and leagues involving other varsity and club sports that do not fall under the umbrella of the NCAA.

The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Morrisville State, Penn College, Penn State Abington, Penn State Berks, Penn State Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly, and Wells College. Associate members are: Alfred State (M Lacrosse), Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), College of Saint Elizabeth (M Tennis & M Volleyball), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), SUNY Potsdam (M Volleyball) and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has also partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and women’s tennis. For more information, please visit: