Defending Champion Morrisville State Tops 2019 NEAC Men's Lacrosse Preseason Poll

Defending Champion Morrisville State Tops 2019 NEAC Men's Lacrosse Preseason Poll

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – After winning four consecutive conference championships, Morrisville State begins the 2019 season as the top team in the league according to the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Men’s Lacrosse Preseason Poll.

Morrisville State earned a No. 1 ranking with seven first-place votes and 49 points. The Mustangs begin their title defense with eight returning starters from a team that went 8-0 in conference play in 2018. Senior attacker Nick Geswaldo (Lafayette, N.Y.) will lead the Mustangs’ offense after scoring 49 goals and 69 points to earn an All-Conference First Team selection while senior Chris Dovi (Cortland, N.Y.) is also expected to be a scoring threat after tallying 50 points last season. NEAC Rookie of the Year Nate McCormick (Cortland, N.Y.) is back for his sophomore season after serving as the Mustangs’ face-off specialist last spring. McCormick won 98-of-206 face-off attempts and picked up 50 ground balls to earn the league’s top honors for a rookie. NEAC Coach of the Year Jason Longo will get his team ready for NEAC play with a tough non-conference schedule that includes Scranton University, SUNY Geneseo and SUNY Cortland.

After advancing to the NEAC Semifinals last spring, Keuka College finished second with 41 total points in the coaches’ rankings. Junior attacker Mark Shattuck (Syracuse, N.Y.) is coming off of an all-conference nod after recording 25 goals and 27 assists in 2018. Junior Craig Gerhardt (Penn Yan, N.Y.) and sophomore Kasey Gallina (Macedon, N.Y.) will also be crucial pieces of the Wolves’ offense after the pair combined for 70 points last season. NEAC Defensive Player of the Year Harold Pallone (Cortland, N.Y.) will solidify the defensive unit after scooping up 95 ground balls and recording 55 caused turnovers as a sophomore. With two decades of coaching experience, head coach Jason Paige expects immediate contributions from his newcomers as the Wolves begin the season with non-conference matchups against Utica, Brockport and Oswego State.

Hilbert College received the final first-place vote and 33 points to finish in third place. Head coach Mike Carbery returns for his second season with a solid group of returners on offense as the Hawks look to contend for a conference title. A pair of all-conference attackers in Ned Mathias (Buffalo, N.Y.) and Jimmy Duffy (Hamburg, N.Y.) will lead the Hilbert offense after scoring 61 and 68 points, respectively, last season. The Hawks will begin the season with a young defense leaning on senior goalie Eli Ryan (Brockport, N.Y.) to serve as their leader after appearing in seven games in 2018. Hilbert’s non-conference slate will include games against Thiel College, Alfred University and DeSales University.

Rounding out the top half of the poll is SUNY Poly at No. 4 with 31 points. The Wildcats enter the new year with a seasoned group as seven seniors and 10 starters are on the 2019 roster. Junior attacker Eddie Rosaschi (Highland Mills, N.Y.) returns after scoring 26 goals and 52 points last spring. Daniel Rivie (Ossining, N.Y.) and Charles Rosaschi (Central Valley, N.Y.) are also expected to bolster the offense after netting over 30 goals apiece in 2018. All-Conference Second Team honoree Ryan Mead (Churchville, N.Y.) is also back after winning 113-of-218 face-off attempts in his rookie year for the Wildcats. SUNY Poly will tune up for its conference opponents with non-league games against Utica College, SUNY Canton and Farmingdale State.

The full 2019 men’s lacrosse preseason rankings can be found below:

Rank Institution (First-Place Votes) Total Points
1. Morrisville State (7) 49
2. Keuka College 41
3. Hilbert College (1) 33
4. SUNY Poly 31
5. Cazenovia College 28
6. Wells College 21
7. SUNY Cobleskill 14
8. Medaille College 7








The preseason poll rankings were conducted by the NEAC men’s lacrosse coaches, with each coach ranking all teams but their own using a staggered points system (seven points for a first-place vote, six points for second, etc.). The 2019 NEAC men’s lacrosse season is scheduled to begin Feb. 22 with a full season schedule being available on the NEAC website


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: