Penn State Abington Earns NEAC Men's Soccer Regular Season Title, Postseason Field Set

Penn State Abington Earns NEAC Men's Soccer Regular Season Title, Postseason Field Set

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – With a perfect 10-0-0 record against league opponents, Penn State Abington has been named North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Men’s Soccer Regular Season Champions for the third time in program history. The NEAC has also announced seeding for the 2017 men’s soccer tournament.

The NEAC Regular Season Champion is determined by comparing the top seeds from each division using specific criteria. Morrisville State College earned the top seed in the North with a 4-1-1division record, including a win over Keuka College.  The Mustangs posted a 6-3-1 record against all conference opponents, therefore giving Penn State Abington the regular season crown. The Nittany Lions also completed South Division play with an unblemished 6-0-0 mark.

This is the first year of a new postseason format in the NEAC utilizing divisional play for a number of sports, including men’s soccer. Eight teams will advance to the postseason tournament with the top four teams from each division advancing. First round matchups will take place within each respective division with the No. 1 seed hosting the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed hosting the No. 3 seed.

Keuka College earned the No. 2 North seed despite its 4-1-1 record against NEAC North opponents as a loss to Morrisville State College proved to be the difference-maker. The Wolves will host No. 3 North seed Penn College with a 3-2-1 division record. SUNY Poly takes the final North seed with a 3-3-0 record and will travel to Morrisville State College.

Penn State Berks claimed the No. 2 South seed with a 4-1-1 divisional record and will host No. 3 South seed Lancaster Bible after the Chargers went 3-2-1 in the division. Divisional tiebreakers gave Wilson College the No. 4 South seed with a 3-3-0 record. The Phoenix will travel to Penn State Abington.

All First Round games will be played on Tuesday, Oct. 31 with the following game times:

North Division                                                                          

SUNY Poly @ Morrisville State College – 2 p.m.

Penn College @ Keuka College – 4 p.m.

South Division

Wilson College @ Penn State Abington – 2 p.m.

Lancaster Bible @ Penn State Berks – 2 p.m.

Following the conclusion of the First Round games, the four remaining teams will be reseeded. The top seed will be designated as the host for the NEAC Men’s Soccer Final Four, which is scheduled for Nov. 4-5. The winner of the NEAC Championship will receive an automatic berth into the 2017 NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Tournament.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: