SUNY Poly claims 2020 NEAC Women's Basketball Regular Season Championship, Postseason Seeding Announced

SUNY Poly claims 2020 NEAC Women's Basketball Regular Season Championship, Postseason Seeding Announced

LATHAM, N.Y. – For the fifth time in the past six seasons, and sixth time in program history, SUNY Poly has earned the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Women’s Basketball Regular Season Championship. The NEAC has also announced the six teams that have advanced to the 2020 postseason tournament.

Women’s basketball utilizes North and South divisional standings to determine its postseason tournament field with the top three teams from each division advancing. First round matchups will take place within each respective division with the No. 2 seed hosting the No. 3 seed. The No. 1 seed from each division will receive a bye to the NEAC Final Four.

SUNY Poly will be the No. 1 North seed with a 10-0 division record while Morrisville State earned the No. 2 North Seed with an 8-2 division record. SUNY Cobleskill, Cazenovia and Keuka College all finished with a 4-6 divisional record and went 2-2 against each other.  Therefore, the No. 3 seed is determined by the third piece of criteria, overall conference record. Cobleskill finished 7-9 in NEAC play, Keuka at 6-10, and Cazenovia at 5-11.  Cobleskill earned the No. 3 North Seed.

In the South Division, Lancaster Bible sits at the top with a 8-2 record against divisional opponents.  Penn State Berks finished 7-3 in the division and will host a First Round game as the No. 2 South Seed. Penn State Harrisburg will enter the tournament as the No. 3 South Seed with a 6-4 division record.

SUNY Poly and Lancaster Bible will receive first round byes. 

To determine the regular season champion and Final Four host, the top seed from each division are compared with the first seeding criteria being the record of No. 1 seeds against their opposite division. SUNY Poly’s record against the South Division was 6-0 while Lancaster Bible went 2-4 against the North Division. 

All First Round games will be played on Tuesday, Feb. 25 with the following game times:

North Division                                                                                

No. 3 SUNY Cobleskill @ No. 2 Morrisville State – 8 p.m.

South Division

No. 3 Penn State Harrisburg @ No. 2 Penn State Berks – 7 p.m.

SUNY Poly will host the NEAC Women’s Basketball Final Four scheduled for Feb. 29-March 1.  

Semifinals: Saturday, Feb. 29

Game 3: SUNY Poly vs. Winner of Penn State Berks / Penn State Harrisburg – 2 p.m.

Game 4: Lancaster Bible vs. Winner of Morrisville State/SUNY Cobleskill – 4 p.m.

Championship Game: Sunday, March 1 – 2 p.m.

The winner of the NEAC Championship will receive an automatic berth into the 2020 NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Tournament.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Morrisville State, Penn College, Penn State Abington, Penn State Berks, Penn State Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly, and Wells College. Associate members are: Alfred State (M Lacrosse), Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), College of Saint Elizabeth (M Tennis & M Volleyball), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), SUNY Potsdam (M Volleyball) and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has also partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and women’s tennis. For more information, please visit: