2019 NEAC Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams & Major Award Winners Announced

Penn State Berks sweeps NEAC Women's Soccer Major Awards
Penn State Berks sweeps NEAC Women's Soccer Major Awards

LATHAM, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced the 2019 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Teams and Major Award winners as determined by the league’s head coaches.

Alexis Schoener (Fleetwood, Pa.) from Penn State Berks was named Player of the Year after leading the conference in goals (18) and points (43). It is the seventh consecutive year that a Penn State Berks player has claimed Player of the Year honors. The sophomore recorded three hat tricks during the regular season; including a four-goal performance against Morrisville State. Schoener’s 18 goals place her in a tie for 25th nationally and the 43 points tie her for 23rd in Division III. The Fleetwood, Pa. native also tallied three game-winning goals this season.

Penn State Berks’ Karina Raykova (Yardley, Pa.) takes home Defensive Player of the Year honors. The senior anchored a backline for the Nittany Lions that allowed one goal in 11 league games for a 0.09 goals-against average. Raykova and the Nittany Lions record 10 shutouts in league play and 12 overall on the season. Raykova also chipped in offensively with 20 points (8 goals, 4 assists).

Sara Hathaway (New Tripoli, Pa.) is the Rookie of the Year. The Penn State Berks’ forward was second in the NEAC in assists with 10 and finished the regular season with 28 points (9 goals, 10 assists). The first-year Nittany Lion recorded hat tricks against both Gallaudet and SUNY Poly. Hathaway closed the regular season with a seven-game points streak. Seventeen of Hathaway’s 28 points have come during the streak.

Adrian Munteanu won Coach of the Year for the sixth time after guiding Penn State Berks to a perfect 11-0 NEAC record and regular-season title. Munteanu last won coach of the year in 2017. Munteanu and the Nittany Lions host this weekend’s final four and seek a seventh straight tournament title. 

Player of the Year
Alexis Schoener, Penn State Berks

Defensive Player of the Year
Karina Raykova, Penn State Berks 

Rookie of the Year
Sara Hathaway, Penn State Berks 

Coach of the Year
Adrian Munteanu, Penn State Berks 

First Team
Forward - Emily McGuigan, Keuka, Sr.
Forward - Dominique Brown, Penn College, Jr.
Forward - Alexis Schoener, Penn State Berks, So.
Midfield - Grace Wolf, Keuka, So.
Midfield - Emily Clapper, Penn State Berks, So.
Midfield - Megan Jardine, Penn State Berks*, Sr.
Midfield - Rhyan Socash, Penn State Harrisburg, So.
Defense - Karina Raykova, Penn State Berks, Sr.
Defense - Emily Stump, Penn State Berks, Sr.
Defense - Mackenzie Haladay, Penn State Harrisburg, So.
Goalkeeper – Jessica Pegg, Keuka, So.

Second Team
Forward - Julia Oglesby, Keuka, So.
Forward - Hannah Neild, Gallaudet, So.
Forward - Sara Hathaway, Penn State Berks, Fr.
Midfield - Kara Huber, Lancaster Bible, Fr.
Midfield - Tiffany Brown, Penn College, Sr.
Midfield - Charlotte Pizzuto, Penn State Berks, Sr.
Defense - Julianne Miller, Lancaster Bible, Sr.
Defense - Francesca Timpone, Penn College, Sr.
Defense - Haley Vavrek, Penn State Harrisburg, Sr.
Defense - Quinlan Gowett, SUNY Poly*, Fr.
Goalkeeper – Taylor Gonzales, Penn College, Jr,

Third Team
Forward - Kaelan Cronan, Penn College, So.
Forward - Elizabeth Clippinger, Penn State Harrisburg, Sr.
Forward - Shannon Harrison, SUNY Poly, Sr.
Midfield - Vera Freda, Keuka, Sr.
Midfield - Abby Williams, Penn College, Jr.
Midfield - Sydney Hemler, Penn State Harrisburg, Fr.
Defense - Cassidy Crumblin, Cazenovia, Sr.
Defense - Tiffany Dicenzo, Morrisville State, Fr.
Defense - Kailee Marciano, Morrisville State, Fr.
Defense - Sloane Tressler, Penn College*, Fr.
Goalkeeper – Meaghan Miller, Morrisville State, Fr.

*-At-large selections


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Morrisville State, Penn College, Penn State Abington, Penn State Berks, Penn State Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly, and Wells College. Associate members are: Alfred State (M Lacrosse), Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), College of Saint Elizabeth (M Tennis & M Volleyball), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), SUNY Potsdam (M Volleyball) and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has also partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and women’s tennis. For more information, please visit: www.neacsports.com.