2019 NEAC Women's Volleyball All-Conference Teams & Major Awards Announced

2019 NEAC Women's Volleyball All-Conference Teams & Major Awards Announced

LATHAM, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced the 2019 Women’s Volleyball All-Conference Team and the Major Award winners as determined by the league’s coaches. 

Morrisville State’s Megyan Merrill (Millport, N.Y.) is the NEAC Player of the Year for the second year in a row. The senior paced the NEAC in kills per set (5.08), kills (483), and is second in hitting percentage at .289. Merrill was a five-time NEAC Player of the Week. The 5.08 kills per set average are the best in Division III, and Merrill is the only player in Division III over five per set.

Brittany Ebaugh (Stewartstown, Pa.) from Penn State Harrisburg is the NEAC Defensive Player of the Year. The senior middle blocker averaged 1.25 blocks per set to lead the league by nearly a quarter of block per set. Ebaugh also leads the league in solo blocks (70) and total blocks (139). Nationally, the Stewartstown, Pa. native sits third in total blocks and leads in solo blocks through Nov. 4.

The 2019 NEAC Rookie of the Year is Katharine Costello (New Hope, Pa.) from Penn State Abington. Costello ranked third in the NEAC at 4.29 kills per set and second in total kills at 438. The first-year Nittany Lion ranks ninth in Division III in kills per set through Nov. 4 and is one of three NEAC players to be inside the Top 10 nationally in the category. Costello sits fifth in the NEAC in hitting percentage at .227.

Morrisville State head coach Fred Wallace is the NEAC Coach of the Year. Wallace led the Mustangs to a second straight undefeated regular season and regular-season title. The seventh-year head coach and the Mustangs have won 27 consecutive games in NEAC regular season play and eye a third consecutive tournament title this weekend. 

Player of the Year
Megyan Merrill, Morrisville State, Sr., OH 

Defensive Player of the Year
Brittany Ebaugh, Penn State Harrisburg, Sr., MB 

Rookie of the Year
Katharine Costello, Penn State Abington, Fr., OH 

Coach of the Year
Fred Wallace, Morrisville State 

First Team
Karita Lewis, Gallaudet, Jr., MH/OH
Megyan Merrill, Morrisville State, Sr., OH
Sam Wolf, Morrisville State, Sr., L
Katharine Costello, Penn State Abington, Fr., OH
Julia Rathsam, Penn State Berks, Fr., S
Brittany Ebaugh, Penn State Harrisburg, Sr., MB
Jackie Allen, Wells, Sr., OH 

Second Team
Aleah Heyworth, Lancaster Bible, Jr., RS
Amelia Baratier, Morrisville State, Sr., OH/RS
Natalie Dwyer, Penn State Berks, So., OH
Jenny McAnaney, Penn State Abington, So., OH
Alexis Imler, Penn State Harrisburg, Sr., OH/S
Karlie King, SUNY Poly, Jr., OH
Jazzmyne Williams, Wells, So., OH

Third Team
Abby Anderson, Keuka, Jr., MH
Courtney Goyak, Lancaster Bible, Sr., MH
Faith Helman, Lancaster Bible, Fr., S/DS
Kirsten Florio, Morrisville State, Jr., MH/OH
Zoe Barna, Penn State Berks, Fr., RS/OH
Katelyn Kreider, Penn State Harrisburg, Sr., DS/OH
Mikayla Catherman, SUNY Cobleskill, Sr., L


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Morrisville State, Penn College, Penn State Abington, Penn State Berks, Penn State Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly, and Wells College. Associate members are: Alfred State (M Lacrosse), Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), College of Saint Elizabeth (M Tennis & M Volleyball), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), SUNY Potsdam (M Volleyball) and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has also partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and women’s tennis. For more information, please visit: www.neacsports.com.